An Ode to Jeggings…

Recently, while perusing my closet, I have noticed that jeggings  have taken over my closet and become a permanent fixture in my daily ensembles.  If you don’t know what jeggings are, then I don’t know what to tell you…we would probably never be friends anyway.

I know these delightful jean/legging hybrids have been around for a couple of seasons, however now they are EVERYWHERE.  Every store and designer has jumped on the jegging train and I couldn’t be happier!  I feel they are a go-to piece for any occasion and serve multiple purposes.  For instance, if I had to attend an old person’s funeral and then go clubbing later (assuming it’s not an immediate family member and just some random old person my grandparents knew in 1907), I would wear a black jegging….I can smoothly transition from mortuary to nightclub and no one would be the wiser.

Anytime someone asks me what I am wearing to Event X, the answer is a resounding, “some sort of jegging & boot combo.”  As much as I love the jegging in all it’s glory, there are also a few things to be aware of when purchasing and subsquently wearing them:

1)  Waist – Some jeggings come with an actual waistband and  (real zipper), some have an elastic waistband.  If you happen to buy the latter option, you HAVE to make sure you are wearing a shirt long enough to cover the front part…otherwise you run the risk of having a case of the “mom” jeans look.  Also, you must NEVER, under any circumstances try the whole shirt tucked in look (unless you want to look like a mental ward escapee).

2)  Muffin-Top Situation – Since these are super tight-fitting, it’s okay to go a size up when it comes to jeggings.  If the thought of going a size makes you hyperventilate (since apparently, the inside tag of your pants is on display)…then opt for the pull-on version – these usually have an elastic waistband (please refer to the above for do’s and don’ts) or a style with a thicker waistband and a  faux zipper, so you don’t have to wrestle with your gut (I’m assuming that you have one, and I’m pretty sure I am right) to get them zipped up.

3)  Back Pocket – Make sure the back pockets are not too small, because then your butt will look that much bigger (and I’m not talking money-making, perky J-Lo big…I’m talking  old white lady wide butt).  If the pockets are bigger, it will do wonders for your un-toned and jiggly (again, only assumptions, but I still believe they are accurate) booty.

Even as I type this, I am nestled in my own pair of cargo pocket jeggings, giddy with the thought of how they will evolve these wonderful little things next season…unless they get banished to fashion Narnia, never to be heard from (or seen) again.

FYI – my current fave is the J Brand Jegging in “Olympia” wash (the middle pair)- I think I wear them 3-4 times a week…

~ by farahk83 on October 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
